Authors’ Advice for a Better Writing Life: Read Widely by Marci Glaus

Marci Glaus, from the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction describes the “Wisconsin Writes” project. Writers describe their own writing process and the importance of reading widely as part of a writer’s life. She mentions my video in her post.

Nerdy Book Club

In an attempt to capture the recursive, complex, messy process we call writing, I started asking authors from my state to do something extremely awkward. I asked them to allow me, and sometimes a small crew, to enter into their personal writing space to film them while they were writing. I also asked them talk out loud about what they were doing in real time. I figured most authors would refuse or just ignore my queries, but to my surprise, almost all of them enthusiastically agreed.

Since 2015, I have been capturing glimpses into example writing processes of writers from a variety of contexts through a project called Wisconsin Writes. More than 20 authors have shared part of their writing process, involving everything from planning, putting a writing plan into action, editing, or revising. Their thoughts were filmed, edited, and then published as short videos on the Wisconsin Department…

View original post 495 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

