Back to School

IMG_0193

The first two weeks of school are filled with many activities to “get to know” students. Some students know each other from previous years, but things in a new room are always different.

As an educator, I am required to know the standards and teach curriculum in reading, phonics, spelling, writing, handwriting, math, social studies, science, nutrition and social/emotional learning.

Which of these do you suppose is most important to students?

After a particularly hot (my school does not have air conditioning) and busy Friday, I finally opened up a letter.
One of my students had given the letter to me right away, as she walked in the room. She must have written it at home the night before. I stuck it in my pocket because I was busy with the lunch count and attendance. I could tell it wasn’t a note from a parent. I forgot about it during our busy day.

Sitting at my desk after students had left, I unfolded her note.

Here is what it said:
IMG_0213

“You are nice to me. You are kind to others. Mrs. B. you are cool and nice.”

Apparently, I made an impression on her after only the first week of school. She is a quiet student and I had no idea that she thought I was “cool”.

Curriculum is important, of course. It’s what students are in school to learn.

However, at the beginning of the year, I am glad that this student has found that I will be kind, and make learning cool. That’s what is most important this time of year to students; building relationships and trust so learning can and will happen.

The views on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the views, opinions, vision or strategies of the Madison Metropolitan School District.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Back to School

  1. You still teach handwriting? 🙂

  2. llsmiles says:

    I love this sweet note. Your blog touched my heart because it is what it is all about. There is nothing more important than being kind to our students. That’s what will matter long after they leave us. Thank you for sharing your kindness with our most valuable possession.

  3. danahuff says:

    I wrote a very similar post, though my students are older. That’s what they remember long after they leave our class: that we were nice, kind and “cool.”

  4. cmargocs says:

    You have made a connection, so the learning can follow…they have to know you care before they care about what you’re teaching. Kudos!

  5. That is a note to keep forever! What a gift. Clearly, you are off to just the right start!

Leave a Reply

